About Us

About WATAP Key Staff

Our staff is nationally recognized for their expertise and leadership in the areas of assistive technology, accessibility of IT and other disability related research and study. For brief biographies of our staff, visit https://uwctds.washington.edu/about_us.

  • Alan Knue - Director of WATAP
  • Mark Harniss, Ph.D. - Director of UW Center for Technology & Disability Studies
  • Kurt Johnson, Ph.D. - Co-Director of UW Center for Technology & Disability Studies
  • Maria Kelley, OTR/L, ATP - Senior Assistive Technology Specialist
  • Naomi Namekata, CATIS - Assistive Technology Specialist
  • Curt Johnson, MS, CRC, ATP - Assistive Technology Specialist
  • Scott Canaan - Program Support Supervisor
  • Alice Klein - Program Coordinator
  • Jacob Rourke - Lending Library Assistant

Advisory Council Members

The Advisory Council is made up of a consumer majority with representation of agency appointed staff from OSPI, DVR, DSB, CIL, and Workforce. Community and agency representatives use their AT experience to review and inform WATAP activities statewide.

  • Mario Eiland - Representative from Department of Services for the Blind
  • Reginald George - Consumer Representative
  • Sandy Goodwick - Consumer Representative
  • Petra Heppner-Nelson - Representative from Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Heather Meares - Consumer Representative
  • Kimberly Meck - Representative from Centers for Independent Living
  • Lee Olsen - Consumer Representative
  • Andrew Pettersson - Representative from Workforce System
  • Tyler Schrenk - Consumer Representative
  • Bill Youngman - Representative from Division of Vocation Rehabilitation

Annual Reports

Funding Year 2017- October 1, 2016 - September 30, 2017 Previous Funding Years

2017 Annual Report Thumbnail








UW Center for Technology & Disability Studies logo

Center for Humand development and disability logo UW Medicine, rehabilitation medicine logo Northwest Access Fund logo
Bridge Disability Ministries logo Logo: Hearing, Speech, and Deafness Center Timberland Regional Library Systems logo
Special Education Techonology Center logo ATAP Logo
  Pass It On Center logo Microsift Accessibility Resource Center